Two changes for Wales to play S Africa

Two changes for Wales to play S Africa

Scarlets prop Samson Lee will make his first start and flanker Josh Turnbull moves into the starting XV from the bench in two changes to the Welsh side to play South Africa in Nelspruit on Saturday.


Lee, who made his international rugby debut last November against Argentina, will join Gethin Jenkins and Ken Owens in a new look front row.

Alun Wyn Jones will captain the side from the second row, where he packs down alongside Luke Charteris, with Turnbull lining up alongside British and Irish Lions duo Dan Lydiate and Taulupe Faletau in the back row.

The backline remains unchanged from the first Test, which Wales lost 38-16, with Mike Phillips and Dan Biggar named at half-back.

Wales’s record centre partnership of Jamie Roberts and Jonathan Davies feature in the midfield with George North and Alex Cuthbert on the wings and Liam Williams at full-back.

“We have been really happy with the response from the players during training this week, we have had a good week and we see Saturday as an opportunity to right the wrongs of last weekend,” said Wales coach Warren Gatland.

“We were disappointed with last week’s display but we want to finish the season with a big performance and show what we know we are capable of.

“It’s a great opportunity for Samson and Josh and they deserve the chance after impressing from the bench last weekend.”

Gatland made three changes on the replacements’ bench, with Aaron Jarvis, Jake Ball and Dan Baker all coming into the match-day squad to join fellow forwards Matthew Rees and Paul James.

Gareth Davies and Matthew Morgan, who both made their international debuts in the first Test in Durban, are named on the bench along with James Hook.

Wales team to play South Africa in Nelspruit on Saturday (kick-off 1300 GMT):

Team (15-1)

Liam Williams: Alex Cuthbert, Jonathan Davies, Jamie Roberts, George North; Dan Biggar, Mike Phillips; Taulupe Faletau, Josh Turnbull, Dan Lydiate; Alun Wyn Jones (capt), Luke Charteris; Samson Lee, Ken Owens, Gethin Jenkins

Replacements: Matthew Rees, Paul James, Aaron Jarvis, Jake Ball, Dan Baker, Gareth Davies, James Hook, Matthew Morgan